Winter Concert Series

Guest Artist: 2019 Young Artist Competition Winners

Saturday, February 22 at 7:30pm
Sunday, February 23 at 2:00pm
Monday, February 24 at 7:30pm
Bend Senior High School Auditorium

Franz von Suppé - Light Cavalry Overture
Max Bruch - Violin Concerto No. 1, Mvt III
Sergei Rachmaninoff - Piano Concerto No. 4, Mvt I
Chris Thomas - Imagine Symphony Live
Sergei Prokofiev - Lieutenant Kije Suite
Jean Sibelius - Finlandia

Our winter concert features a trio of works by composers representing Austria, Russia and Finland as well as three distinct compositional genres: a rousing overture from von Suppé’s opera Light Cavalry, music by Prokofiev from the 1934 film Lieutenant Kijé, one of the earliest sound films produced in the Soviet Union, and the nationalistically inspired tone poem Finlandia by Sibelius. Additionally, the winners of the Central Oregon Symphony Association Young Artist Competition will appear on this concert. Nicholas Oncken, violin, will perform Max Bruch "Violin Concerto No. 1, Mvt III" and Sunny Wang, piano, will play Movement I from Piano Concerto No. 4 by Sergei Rachmaninoff.

Learn more about the Imagine Symphony Live project at

Ticket Information:
Season ticket holders will receive their tickets via postal mail approximately three weeks before the concert. For more information about tickets and/or becoming a member, please contact the COSA office at via phone 541-317-3941 or email info @

We set aside complimentary tickets for anyone who wishes to attend a Symphony performance. Tickets will be available in the lobby prior to each concert, or they may be obtained approximately three weeks before each performance at various businesses throughout Central Oregon.
Please click here for those locations.